Thursday 24 September 2020, 03:28 AM
Five nations assume charge as non-permanent members of UNSC
By IANS | Bharat Defence Kavach | Publish Date: 1/3/2020 12:50:58 PM
Five nations assume charge as non-permanent members of UNSC

United Nations: Estonia, Niger, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Tunisia and Vietnam began to assume responsibilities on Thursday as non-permanent members of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC).The five countries hold a two-year term. Out of the five newly-elected members, Estonia and Saint Vincent and the Grenadines have never served on the Security Council, Xinhua news agency reported.

Kuwait, Peru, Poland, Cote d'Ivoire and Equatorial Guinea have just left the Security Council.The 15-member Security Council has five permanent members -- Britain, China, France, Russia and the United States, and 10 non-permanent members elected for two-year terms by the UN General Assembly.

The Security Council's powers include the establishment of peacekeeping operations and international sanctions as well as the authorization of military actions through resolutions. It is the only body of the UN with the authority to issue binding resolutions to member states. The Council held its first session on Jan. 17, 1946.




भारत डिफेंस कवच की नई हिन्दी पत्रिका ‘डिफेंस मॉनिटर’ का ताजा अंक ऊपर दर्शाया गया है। इसके पहले दस पन्ने आप मुफ्त देख सकते हैं। पूरी पत्रिका पढ़ने के लिए कुछ राशि का भुगतान करना होता है। पुराने अंक आप पूरी तरह फ्री पढ़ सकते हैं। पत्रिका के अंकों पर क्लिक करें और देखें। -संपादक

Contact Us: 011-66051627


Copyright 2018 Bharat Defence Kavach. All Rights Resevered.
Designed by : 4C Plus